Prof. Dr. Martin Walter, MD, FECSM

Email: martin.walter@med.ovgu.de



Martin Walter studied medicine and philosophy in Magdeburg and Lyon and received his board certification and habilitation in Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at the Department of Psychiatry, Magdeburg. He obtained his PhD at the local graduate school on the neurobiology of psychiatric disorders. In 2008 he founded the CANLAB at the school of medicine after working as a staff physician and postdoc in experimental psychiatry. International appointments include visiting professorships in China as well as research fellowships and clinical training in Boston, Kansas City and Zürich. Since 2011 he leads the research group on neuropsychiatry at the Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology and he coordinates the "Cognitive Neuroimaging" module at the Integrative Neuroscience Programme of the Otto von Guericke University. Since 2016, Martin Walter is appointed as Professor for biomedical image analysis at the University of Tuebingen, Germany.



Linda Frolik-Endrulat, Scientific Coordinator

Email: linda.frolik-endrulat@med.ovgu.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-538



Linda studied Health Promotion and Management at the University of Applied Sciences in Magdeburg. After successful graduation she moved to Cologne in 2010 to work in the German Hodgkin Study Group, Department I of Internal Medicine of the University Hospital Cologne. Her work was planning and organisation of mono- and multicenter oncology trials and management of all study relevant activities. In December 2014 Linda joined the CANLAB. She is responsible for the project management of all clinical trials and third party projects.



Luisa Fensky, MSc Biology

Scientific Coordinator

Email: luisa@canlab.de

Phone: 0049 7071/ 29-85753



Luisa studied biology at the RWTH University Aachen, focusing on biological information processing. Her Master's thesis dealt with the effect of Rab-proteins on the toxicity of alpha-synuclein in Parkinson's disease. Luisa joined the CANLAB in 2015 as a Scientific Coordinator and is responsible for the project management within the neuropsychiatric study center (Neuropsychiatrische Studienzentrale) in Tübingen.



Corinna Hartig, Secretary Magdeburg

Email: office@canlab.de


Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-530




Helga Lennig, Secretary Tübingen

Email: office@canlab.de


Phone: 0049 7071/ 29-86119






Johan van der Meer, PhD

Head Hardware Development

Email: johan@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-536


Johan studied biomedical physics at the University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands and obtained his PhD at the Academic Medical Centre of the University of Amsterdam. His previous work was on how to study movement disorders with simultaneous EMG-fMRI. During his postdoc at the Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience he worked on silencing the MRI scanner by manipulating pulse sequences and calibration measurements for simultaneous high-density EEG with fMRI; both for the study of sleep and sleep disorders. At the CANLAB, he now works on real-time neurofeedback fMRI for the study of affective disorders.


Meng Li, PhD

Head Image Analysis

Email: meng@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-536


Meng performed his PhD on local tissue abnormalities underlying aberrant functional connectivity in neurological and psychiatric disorders in Magdeburg and Beijing. Graduated at the Institute of Automation at the Chinese Academy of Sciences he combines pattern recognition methods and medical image processing technologies in the assessment of brain functional and structural abnormality.


Yan Fan, PhD

Email: yan@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-536



Yan studied integrative neuroscience at University of Magdeburg and obtained her PhD at the Department of Psychology, Free University Berlin. Her previous work addressed the influence of early life stress and intranasal-oxytocin on brain connectivity during resting-state and acute psychosocial stress. Her current research at CANLAB mainly concerns the reconfiguration and recovery of brain connectivity induced by transient negative affect and psychosocial stress.

Sarah Alizadeh, MSc Electrical Engineering

Email: alizadeh@canlab.de



Sarah received the B.Sc. degree from Ferdowsi University of Mashhad, and the M.Sc. degree from University of Tehran both in electrical engineering. She has been doing her Ph.D. at the Graduate School of Neural Information Processing, University of Tübingen. Her PhD mainly addressed decoding traces of memory reactivations during offline continuous electrical brain activity (EEG) using multivariate pattern analysis. At the CANLAB, she investigates the dynamic characteristics of brain networks and machine learning classification approaches based on resting state EEG-fMRI data.

Hamidreza Jamalabadi,
MSc Electrical Engineering

Email: jamalabadi@canlab.de



Hamidreza studied electrical engineering and received the B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees from University of Tehran. He performed his Ph.D. at the Graduate School of Neural Information Processing, University of Tübingen and at the University of Munich where he worked on the development and optimization of techniques and algorithms for multivariate pattern analysis of high density EEG data. His current research in the CANLAB concerns the network-level analysis of simultaneous resting-state EEG-fMRI data and investigating the correlates of state transitions in EEG and BOLD signal during the rest.

Guests and Associated Researchers


Anton Lord, PhD

Email: anton@canlab.de



Anton studied bioinformatics and statistcs at the University of Queensland, Australia. After completing his PhD, he worked in CANLAB on classification of brain networks with graph metrics in affective disorders like depression, anorexia, and pedophilia.


Shijia Li, PhD

Email: shijia@canlab.de



Shijia obtained her PhD degree at the university of Oldenburg, Germany and worked as a postdoc in CANLAB. She investigates the effect of stress on cognitive processes using for example PPI analysis.


Bin Zhang, PhD

Email: bin@canlab.de



Bin completed the Integrative Neuroscience Program and obtained his PhD degree at OVGU Magdeburg and is now associated with CANLAB as a postdoctoral researcher. He is interested in basic neurofunctional questions, especially decision making. His research focuses on emotion and cognition interaction using resting state fMRI.



PhD students


Anna Linda Krause, MD

Email: annalinda@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-537



Anna Linda is a medical doctor, who studied at the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg. She is investigating neural correlates of schema-activation and countertransference reactions in the context of attachment theory supported by a research fellowship of the Otto-von-Guericke-University.

Viola Borchardt, MSc Neuroscience

Email: viola@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-537


Viola studied Medical Engineering Science at the University of Luebeck. Her bachelor thesis dealt with classification of social relations between a sender and an observer based on similarity of brain activation during affective communication. For her master studies she enrolled in the Integrative Neuroscience Programm in Magdeburg after which she worked on her master thesis on implications of preprocessing methods on graph theoretical metrics in resting state brain networks and machine learning in psychiatric neuroimaging. For her PhD, she is engaged in analysis of dynamic characteristics of brain networks using simultaneous EEG-fMRI.

Marie Wölfer

Email: mwoelfer@canlab.de



Marie is a medical student at the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg. In 2013 she started to work in CANLAB, where she investigates the relation between major depressive disorder (MDD) and brain derived neurotrophic growth factor (BDNF) in the ketamine project.


Lejla Colic, MSc Biology

Email: lejla@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-537



Lejla studied Biology at the University of Zagreb, Croatia and finished with a thesis “Social and emotional behavior in rats after perinatal treatment with serotonin precursor”. Due to the wish to deepen her knowledge in the field of neuroscience she did an internship at École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne in the Laboratory of behavioral genetics. She started her PhD in SFB 779 Graduate school program and will work in the CANLAB on the project “Investigation of brain motivational systems in depression and bipolar disorder by multimodal imaging and neurohistology."

Carina Födisch, MSc Psychology

Email: carina@canlab.de



Carina studied psychology at the Otto-von-Guericke-University in Magdeburg. In her master thesis she explored the question if adolescent daughters are more affected in quality of life by maternal breast cancer than younger kids or sons. Carina works on her doctoral thesis next to her studies in medicine at the Otto-von-Guericke-University in Magdeburg. She is involved in acquisition of subjects and behavioural testing in the scope of the NeMUP project.

Inka Ristow

Email: inka@canlab.de



Inka is a medical student at the Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg. She joined the CANLAB in 2014. Her investigation in the NeMUP project focuses on the neurobiological differences between pedophilic offenders and non-pedophilic non-offenders using examinations in the high-field MRI.



Vanessa Marr

Email: vanessa@canlab.de



Vanessa studies medicine at the Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg. She joined CANLAB in 2014 and is engaged in the NeMUP project, which deals with the elucidation of neurobiological mechanisms of pedophilia. Vanessa is especially involved in MEG measurements.



Florian Götting

Email: florian@canlab.de



Florian is a medical student at the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg. He does research on his doctoral thesis in the „Non-invasive interventions and neurofeedback“ project since 2013. In this field he investigates the application of real-time fMRI neurofeedback on depressive disorders.

Felicia von Düring

Email: felicia@canlab.de

Phone: 0049 391/ 6117-537


Felicia is studying medicine at the Otto-von-Guericke University of Magdeburg. She has chosen psychiatry as her elective subject and joined the CANLAB-group to gain an insight into the SFB-project, focussing on the emotional reactions of psychologically impaired patients. This empirical research will be used as the foundation of her PhD thesis.

Thomas Liebe, MD

Email: liebe@canlab.de


Thomas is a medical doctor and studied at the Otto-von-Guericke University in Magdeburg. He is working in the ketamine project on his doctoral thesis. His research activities focus on the physiological side effects and the resting state functional connectivity of ketamine. He is supported by the research fellowship of the University Magdeburg.

Björn Langbein

Email: bjoern@canlab.de


Björn studies medicine at the Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg. He joined CANLAB in 2014 and is involved in the ketamine project using EEG and fMRI. For his doctoral thesis he does experiments on how ketamine affects the ability to learn.

Dominik Denzel

Email: dominik@canlab.de



Dominik is a medical student at the Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg. He is currently involved in the SFB-project, in which he focuses on brain networks and depression. This empirical research will be the foundation of his PhD thesis.



Annina Widmann

Email: annina@canlab.de



Annina is a medical student and absolved her first 2 years of med school in Timisoara, Romania. In 2014 she joined the CANLAB and is also working as a paramedic. For her PHD she investigates the influence of traumatic events in childhood in relation to different projects.



Vanessa Teckentrup, MSc Psychology

Email: teckentrup@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 7071/ 29-85753



Vanessa studied Psychology at the Goethe University Frankfurt/Main. In her master thesis she investigated the neural representation of trust using a multivariate pattern recognition approach applied to EEG data that was recorded during a two-player Trust Game. Beyond that she also gained insight into EEG resting state analysis and source localization of EEG data.
Working on her PhD in CANLAB, she wants to acquire more in-depth knowledge concerning task-based as well as resting state fMRI analyses, graph theoretical metrics of brain networks and machine learning approaches applied to neuroimaging data.



Tara Chand,
MTech Cognitive and Neuroscience

Email: tarachand@canlab.de
Phone: 0049 7071/ 29-85753



Tara Chand earned his B.Tech and M.Tech degrees in Cognitive and Neuroscience from Centre for Converging Technologies, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur​ ​(India). His master thesis focused on the functional connectivity of the brain in which he worked ​on ​investigating the application of different time series similarity metrics on fMRI data to capture both linear and nonlinear trends. During his PhD project, he is working towards exploring the dynamic functional connectivity and its perturbation in​ ​affective disorders.



Master students


Anne Kühnel, BSc Psychology

Email: annekuehnel@canlab.de



Anne studies the master program Integrative Neuroscience at the Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg after finishing her bachelor degree in Psychology. She joined CANLAB to write her master thesis in which she investigates interindividual differences in the stress response using physiological as well as fMRI data. 


Research Assistants


Anne-Kathrin Boldt, MSc

Email: anneboldt@canlab.de



Anne studied Business Administration at the University of Applied Sciences in Magdeburg. In August 2015 she joined the CANLAB. Anne works as a research assistant and is involved in fMRI studies. Her main responsibility is based on several organisational matters, recruitment of subjects and data entry. 



Christian Wohlfarth, MSc

Email: chris@canlab.de



Chris studied Neurobiology at the University of Ulm and wrote his master thesis at the University of Göttingen about "The Eyes of Paedophilia: Does Testosterone affect sexual attention?". Currently, he works as a research assistant and is involved in fMRI studies and behavioural testing.



Former Members

Researcher Students
Ulf Eckert, MD, ulf@canlab.de Sebastian Wendt, sebastian@canlab.de
Julia Buchmann, julia@canlab.de Nora Hailla, nora@canlab.de
Thomas M. Malone, tom@canlab.de Maryam Roayaee, maryam@canlab.de
Marie-José van Tol, marie@canlab.de Wenjing Li, wenjing@canlab.de
Leona Fischermeier, fischermeyer@canlab.de Annemarie Osoba, anne@canlab.de
Coraline Metzger, cora@canlab.de Deepthi Varikuti, deepthi@canlab.de
Norman Zacharias, norman@canlab.de Chuan-Chih Yang, chuanchi@canlab.de
Julia Noack, jnoack@canlab.de Dorothea Horn, doro@canlab.de
Felix Schneider, felix@canlab.de Shan Yang, shan.yang@uniklinik-freiburg.de
Michal Bola, michal@canlab.de Kolja Neubacher, kolja@canlab.de
Ramona Demenescu, ramona@canlab.de Katharina Dinica, kathi@canlab.de
Alireza Sojoudi, ali@canlab.de Weiqiang Dou, weiqiang@canlab.de
  Anika Hentrich, anika@canlab.de
  Katharina Fuhrich, katharina@canlab.de
  Maria Watermann, mwatermann@canlab.de
  Maya Nathan, maya@canlab.de
  Berit Wiegmann, berit@canlab.de
  Thomas Wendt, thomas@canlab.de
  Kristina Hahn, kristina@canlab.de
  Xuemei Cheng, xuemei@canlab.de
  Hanna Nießen, hanna@canlab.de
  Laura Neubert, laura@canlab.de
  Diane Nentedem, diane@canlab.de